DiscGolfWarrior.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. As an affiliate, this website earns from qualifying purchases.

What if my disc golf disc lands in the water?

Every disc golf player has this experience!

Don’t worry too much because every disc golf player understands the feeling. You thought you were going for an ace but instead it landed in the water.

Then what happens?

What happens if your disc flies into the water?

If your disc decided to go for a swim, you will have to add a stroke to your score as a penalty.

If you’re lucky, you’ll be able to go get your disc from the water.

If luck isn’t on your side, you might lose your disc and take a penalty stroke.

Are you allowed to get the disc out of the water in disc golf?

It is definitely worth it to try to get your disc out of the water! Water holes can, unfortunately, be a Bermuda Triangle for lost discs.

Retrieving your disc from the water can be an adventure in and of itself!

But those discs aren’t free, so it’s best to try to get it back.

There are a few options you can take to go get your disc before it sinks to watery grave!

Dive into the water and grab it

Don’t actually dive into the water, but go trek into the wilderness and bring the disc back yourself.

This is not necessarily recommended unless you happened to bring some water shoes.

Depending on where the course is located, you might be facing some dangerous beasts like leeches, snakes or alligators!

Golden Disc Retriever by Dynamic Discs

A better way to retrieve your sunken disc is to use the retriever from Infinite Discs.

These contraptions are designed to help you get the disc out of the water and it doesn’t take up too much space in your bag.

The Golden Retriever in particular is able to recover discs from water even if the disc is 50 feet away from the shore.

The Golden Retriever is also really easy to use.

Simply unwind the rope and throw it past the disc golf disc.

Then pull it across the disc to retrieve it.

Once it skims across the bottom of the disc, it will be able to scoop it up so you can start celebrating that you haven’t lost your favorite disc!

Even if you’re forced to take a penalty disc, at least you’ll have your favorite disc!

Most players will go to great lengths to save their discs from the water because it can take a long time to find just the right fit for you!

This product is a lifesaver!

Keep a floating disc in your artillery

Every player that is heading to a course with water should have a disc that is water friendly!

Make sure you keep a disc that will float for use at the holes with a water obstacle.

Make sure you keep it with you whenever you hit the course!

What happens next?

Once you’ve retrieved your disc from the water you need to question if your disc has gone out of bounds.

If your disc has gone into the water, it is considered out of bounds!

Most courses mark the water or water obstacles as out of bounds.

Technically, if there was a puddle of water then your disc would still be playable!

Disc Golf Water Hazard Rules

The disc golf water hazard rules reveal that a disc is still considered in-bounds and playable in a casual body of water.

This happens when there is a body of water like a puddle where you can still play your disc without taking a penalty stroke.

To continue playing that disc, you will need to be willing to get your feet wet or play from a lie that has been relocated.

The PDGA has casual area rules where it must be farther from the target and still on the line of play.

Rules for normal water hazards

The PDGA also has rules for other bodies of water. They consider lost discs to be out of bounds.

If you want to search for a lost disc, you only have three minutes to find it according to the PDGA.

If you’re playing with your friends, you might be able to convince them to help you look for the disc.

Unfortunately, if you can’t find it or if you can’t get it out of the water within three minutes, you’ll have to take a penalty stroke and consider it a lost disc.

Throwing once you’ve gotten your disc out of the water

Once you’ve taken your disc from the water, you’ll not only take a penalty stroke, but you can place your marker disc in five different areas to set your lie.

However, if you’re just playing for fun and it’s an informal game, you can throw it from the water.

However, if you’re playing according to the PDGA rules, you will need to throw from a previous lie, one that is only one meter away from the out of bounds area, a designated drop zone, or a playing surface that is near the position of the disc.

Want some advice?

Don’t throw your top disc when you’re on a water hole.

If you’ve hit a hole where there is a water obstacle or a possibility of throwing your disc into the water, don’t use your favorite disc!

You can easily swap out your favorite disc for a lesser disc on a water hole.

Grab a cheap plastic disc or something that you won’t miss if you lose it!

To summarize, your disc is considered out of bounds if it landed in the water unless it is a casual body of water.

There are a few courses that don’t have water but you will inevitably face it if you are more than a casual player.

If you can’t avoid the water, make sure you have a retriever to get your disc out of the water!

Featured image credit: Shutterstock.com Image ID: 38738257