DiscGolfWarrior.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. As an affiliate, this website earns from qualifying purchases.

Everyone has had the experience when you know you’re about to get your disc golf disc into the basket.

There’s no doubt that you’ll be able to get it in the next shot.

Then your perfect throw gets ruined when you accidentally get it on the top of the basket.

You start wondering, “what if the disc golf disc lands on top of the basket? Will this still count? What happens now?”

Many people will even debate their more experienced friends and players on their knowledge about basket shots.

Many don’t know off of the top of their head!

Many people who have been playing disc golf long enough have run into this situation.

If you are not entirely sure if this counts as getting it into the basket or not, you will find your answer in this article!

What if the disc golf disc lands on top of the basket?

Unfortunately, if you land your disc golf disc on the top of the basket, it is considered a disc resting on top and it does not count.

If you get a disc resting on top, you’ve has a shot that doesn’t count and you will have to throw again.

According to the Professional Disc Golf Association, you have to accomplish a situation is called “holing out” which is considered completing the hole.

Why doesn’t a disc resting on top count?

The rules of the game as stated by the Professional Disc Golf Association reveals that completing the hole requires a player to release the disc and have it end its flight supported by the inner cylinder of the tray or supported by the chains.

It can include situations when the disc is wedged inside the chains or when the disc is hanging from a lower section.

Unfortunately, this does not include situations when the disc comes to rest on the upper entrapment, or if it is hanging outside of the upper entrapment.

It has to remain within the chains of entrapment until removed.

This means that when your disc lands on the top of the basket, it is not considered holing out.

What counts as a basket in disc golf?

The disc must go through the chain support to count as a basket.

The only situation where it would count if the disc landed on top of the basket would be if the disc somehow managed to enter the chain supports first and then somehow land on top of the basket.

What if the disc becomes stuck on the side of the basket?

It is considered a basket if the disc enters the space between the top of the basket and the chain supports, so if the disc does that and then comes to rest on the side of the basket, it would count.

If the disc landed on the side of the basket without passing through the chain supports first, it would not count.

What if the disc hits the chains and bounces out?

Unfortunately, this situation would not count as a basket either.

If the disc bounces out, it wouldn’t count even if it went through the chain supports.

The rules reveal that the disc must be supported by the target to be considered holing out. If the disc bounces out, the target isn’t supporting it.

What if the disc goes through the chains and rests on the pole?

This is another tricky situation that has confused many players, but it isn’t as tricky as you might think.

Though the disc passed through the right space, it isn’t resting on the target.

The pole is not considered the target and so it will not count if the disc is resting on the pole.

Why doesn’t it count when you get your disc on the top of the basket?

There are a few theories about why this is a rule in the disc golf community, aside from simply being outlined in the rule book.

The first is that there simply has to be a line drawn to differentiate scoring.

Another is simply that the purpose of disc golf is to get the disc into the basket, not on top of it.

The only way to score is to get the disc into the basket or inside the chains.

What happens when you land your disc on top of the basket?

If this unlucky situation has happened to you, there are outlined procedures about how to proceed after getting your disc on top of the basket.

There are three things that must happen to hole out.

  • You’ll have to take a stroke on the hole. The basket doesn’t count, which means you will need to take a stroke on the hole. You will have to throw again until you land your disc in the basket. Whatever stroke count you had before landing your disc on top of the basket should have an additional stroke.
  • Placing your disc. To place your disc correctly, simply place your disc marker directly under the basket where the disc is lying. The marker should be directly under the basket. However, if you are playing doubles with a partner, your partner will still be able to shoot from the original placement.
  • Take your shot. If you throw your disc from your marker, you should be able to simply drop your disc into the basket. You may have lost a stroke on this hole, but you’ll be able to make up for it later in the round.

Preventing this from happening

Unfortunately, this isn’t necessarily a situation you can prevent against.

Many times the throw on the top of the basket is just bad luck, not an issue of skill.

A throw that bounces out of the basket might require you to improve your game!

There are a number of different scenarios where you might have to make a judgment call on whether you scored or not.

It’s important to remember that getting your disc on top of the basket does not count as holing out.

Featured image credit: Shutterstock.com Image ID: 1650039013